VETS – Week ending 4th July 2015


Monday’s trip to Woodford saw some very good results by a few of our players with Don Clelland scoring 46 points and Russ Rylance 43 points. The course was in very good condition and we all got in before the downpour.

I must say that the organization down there was not that great and the event was not very well supported by their players.  Woodford pay us a visit on the 16th of November, so it will be interesting to see how they support our event.

Wednesday was our John Madill Monthly Medal, and the course was very wet underfoot.  We did however play in brilliant sunshine and most scores returned were probably about 4 strokes more than when we play in normal conditions.

It was unfortunate to hear that Stuart Wright has resigned due to ongoing shoulder problems.   Stuart has asked that I pass on the following: “I have enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, and the many notable members that created for me great memories. I would like Grant to pass this on to the many veterans and thank them for the mateship”.

We wish Stuart all the best and also extend a welcome to him if he would like to join us at any time to catch up with his mates.  Obviously we would like to see Stuart attend our “Vets Xmas Lunch” at the end of the year.

On Tuesday the 14th of July we are inviting the ladies to a 9 hole, 3 person Ambrose. The comp fee will be $6.00 and it will be an 8.00am shotgun start.  It is short notice but we would like a few more names on the sheet as we don’t want to be outnumbered.  The sheet is on our pin up board and will be out on the table next Wednesday.


Event: Monthly Medal
Sponsor: John Madill Toyota
Field: 74

A Grade Winner: Bruce Cowan 66,                Runner Up: Ray Lally 71

B Grade Winner: Roman Pajak 65,                Runner Up: Ken McKay 68 c/b

C Grade Winner: Dave Chapman 65,             Runner Up: Kevin Crundall 67

Run Down to 73: John Kelly, Terry Lyons, Dale Rickard, Col Easton, Brian Flynn, Kim Bannikoff, Tom Williams, Rod Roemermann, John Sutcliffe, Lionel Willett, Andrew Dick, Ian McMullen, Rex Williams, Grant Smallacombe, Greg Michael, Len Highland, Rob Powell

NTP: 4thA Skinner (Richies Bakery), 6th Con Russell, 7th Tony Gordon, 10th Rex Williams (Cooroy Harvest Fresh), 12th Grant Smallacombe, 13th John Kelly (Bar Voucher), 15th Con Russell (Noosa Outlook Meats).

Captain’s Choice- Hole 1, 2nd shot: David Jones

Best Gross: 1stBruce Cowan, 2nd David Jones, 3rd Rex Williams.

Raffle: John Round, Peter Piggott, Greg Michael, Tom Williams