VETS – Results for week ending 18th July 2015


On Tuesday we held our “Invite to the Ladies” event.  This year we went to a 4 person Ambrose as the numbers worked out perfect with 26 Ladies and 26 Men taking part.

Our serial past winners “The Piggott’s” were split up this year so someone else would have a chance of taking out the major prize.  This strategy proved pointless as Sue was part of the Winning Team and Peter was part of the Runners-Up Team.  The day was a great success and is getting more popular each year.  Thank you all for your attendance.

Initially it was a bit of a shock venturing outside a warm club house on Wednesday morning to a cold and frosty course but things eventually warmed up and it turned out to be a pleasant winter day.

Heading out at the end of the field certainly seemed to help our starters Graham Laing and Dave Lyons with Graham firing 42 to take out A Grade and Dave finishing Runner Up in A Grade with 40.

Ed Boyd fired an excellent 44 to take out B Grade with Warren Hay taking out C Grade with 41.

Next Wednesday’s 4BBB event is an 8.00am shotgun start and it will be followed by our very popular free sausage sizzle.

NOTE:  We are on the lookout for any injured players or volunteer who may like to do the cooking.  If you fit the bill, please let us know as soon as possible.


Event: 4 Person Ambrose
Hosting: Cooroy Ladies
Prize Donor: Grant Smallacombe
Field: 52

Winners: Sue Piggott, Sheila Warren, Rex Williams, Mike Smith
Runners Up: Lyn Becker, Mary Miller, Peter Piggott, Brian McLoughlin
3rd Place: Leith Barr, Eve Hunt, Paul O’Hare, Greg Flanagan

NTP: 4th – David Jones, 6th Peter Piggott

Captain’s Choice: 1st Hole, 2nd Shot (Team Event): Sue Piggott, Sheila Warren, Rex Williams, Mike Smith

Raffle: Nick Kostalas, Sheila Warren, Leith Barr, Helen Dougherty, Colleen Sykes, Lyn Becker


Event: Stableford
Prize Donor: John Butler
Field: 77 including 2 visitors

Winner: A Grade – Graham Laing 42, B Grade – Ed Boyd 44, C Grade – Warren Hay 41
Runner Up: A Grade – Dave Lyons 40, B Grade – Alex Kologaras 42, C Grade – Ray Glover 40
3rd Place: A Grade – Jeff McDonald 39, B Grade – Ken McKay 41, C Grade – Brian McLoughlin 38

Run Down: Dave Chapman, Ron Bourne, Dale Rickard, Bill Hesse, Rob Powell, Terry Wilson, John Kelly, John O’Donoghue, Phil Mason, .

NTP: 4th (Richies Bakery)– Bob Noble, 6th – Lionel Willett, 7th – Bob Noble, 10th (Cooroy Harvest Fresh) – Phil Mason, 12th – Rod Booth, 13th (Bar Voucher) – Phil Mason, 15th (Noosa Outlook Prestige Meats) – Terry Wilson.

Captain’s Choice 1st – 2nd Shot: Tom Williams

RAFFLE: John Dangar, Alex Kologaras, Don Pigdon, David Jones