VETS: Week ending 23rd January 2016


A busy week started with our visit to Pelican Waters on Monday. PictureAndrew Dick photo bombing!!

2016 at Pelican WatersAt one stage we had 50 players going, but ended up with a very creditable 42 players in the end.  Apologies go to Ian McMullen, Mike Smith, and Rob Nash who were named for being no shows.  It turns out that they had all made an attempt to notify of their withdrawal but unfortunately to the wrong people.  For the record, these host days are run by the Captain’s of the various clubs.  Your Captain is the person who should be notified of any changes.

Wednesday’s are a different story as the Cooroy Golf Club has a copy of the Nomination Sheet at all times and can make changes on your behalf.

Congratulations to Ray Glover (42 points), John Cairns (41), Rod Roemermann (40), Rod Harper (39), George Hall and Kevin Crundall (37) for being the best of our players. The Jim Penman Host Day Trophy Leader Board will be on display on our notice board soon.

Wednesday saw the start of our Stableford Player of the Year competition.  We play a total of 20 Stableford games for the year and your best 10 scores count.

Graham Laing is our early leader and scored an impressive 48 points.  Details of this competition will also be pinned to our Notice Board.

Thank you to Wednesday’s member prize sponsors in Brian Flynn and Graham Laing.

Next week is a 2 Man Ambrose competition.  Please try and ensure that you have a playing partner.


We welcome a new member in Brian Clemow.  Brian hails from the NSW mid coast region.  Please make Brian feel welcome.


Event: Stableford
Prize Donors: Graham Laing & Brian Flynn
Field: 88

Lumsden IanWinners: A Grade – Tony Bernhagen 43, B Grade – Graham Laing 48, C Grade – Ian Mulhall 44
Runners Up: A Grade – Bob Noble 42, B Grade – Grant Smallacombe 45, C Grade – Lionel Willett 39 c/b
3rd  Place: A Grade – Ian Lumsden (left) 41 c/b, B Grade – Ron Blount 43, C Grade – Tom Murphy 39 c/b

Run Down to38: Bruce Cowan, Jon Sendall, Andrew Dick, Ozzie Osborne, Kevin Olsen, Greg Michael, Dale Rickard, Glen Johnstone, Brian McMillan, Ed Boyd, Alex Kologaras, Peter Reilly, Kev Crundall, John McNamara, Nick Kostalas, Ray Lally, Brian Flynn, Rob Powell, Jim Henderson.


4th (Richies Bakery/Fox & Hound Espresso) – Bruce Wilshire
6th – Tom Murphy
7th – Tony Bernhagen
10th (Cooroy Harvest Fresh) – Ray Lally
12th – John O’Donoghue
13th (Cooroy Golf Club) – Tony Foster
15th (Noosa Outlook Prestige Meat) – Jon Sendall

Captain’s Choice – 8th Hole 2nd shot: Grathan Leatherbarrow

Lucky Draw: Derek Clayton, John McNamara, Andre Smit, Bill Hesse