VETS: Week ending 20th August 2016


With 2 games this week it is an ideal time to give you an update on both the Jim Penman Host Day Trophy and theMost Consistent Stableford Player” leader boards.

With only 4 host day’s remaining for the year things are getting close at the top.  We have Don Clelland and Jason Egan both on 356 points, and Rex Williams in 3rd place on 351 points.  The top 10 receive a prize so there is still plenty of opportunity to climb the ladder.

Wednesday’s Stableford competition also saw quite a few move up the leader board. Errol Radley’s score of 46 points replaced a 30 point score so he improved his position from 36th to 18th.  Our leaders at the moment are Greg Michael with 383 points, Rex Williams 378 points, and Ron Bourne 369 points.  There are still another 7 Stableford competitions remaining for the year, so there are still plenty of opportunities for you to climb into the top ten.

Both leader boards can be found on our pin up board at the club.

Highlights from Wednesday’s 4 ball aggregate Stableford were:

  • Popularity of the contest.
  • Errol Radleys 46 points (77 off the stick for the 17 handicapper).
  • Gary Daymans eagle on the 18th.

RESULTS for 17th AUGUST 2016

Event: 4 Ball Aggregate Stableford and Single Stableford
Prize Sponsors: smallPRINT Australia Pty Ltd & Cooroy Vets
Field: 78

4 Ball Aggregate Stableford:

Winners: Meade Team 152 – Graeme Meade, Warren Hay, Rod Harper, Ray Lally
Runners Up: Kershaw Team 151 – Tony Kershaw, Brian McLoughlan, Lance Horn, Owen Davidson
3rd Place: Olsen Team 149 – Kevin Olsen, Errol Radley, John Butler, Ken McKay

Run Down:

Pigdon Team 148 – Don Pigdon, Ron Bourne, Ed Krop, Greg Michael
Bannikoff Team 144 – Kim Bannikoff, Terry Lyons, Doug Allisone, Graham Laing

Single Stableford:

Winners: A Grade – Errol Radley 46, B Grade – Ron Bourne 45, C Grade – Warren Hay 42
Run Down to 40: Bill Galvin, Doug Allisone, Bruce Wilshire, John Kelly, Lance Horn, Tony Kershaw, Graeme Meade


4th (Richies Bakery/Fox & Hound Espresso) – Russ Rylance
6th – Warren Hay
7th – Jon Sendall
10th (Cooroy Harvest Fresh) – Rod Roemermann
12th – Ed Krop
13th (Cooroy Golf Club) – Ken McKay
15th (Noosa Outlook Prestige Meat) – Jim Turnbull

Eagle 18th – Gary Dayman

Captain’s Choice 3rd Hole 2nd Shot: Bob Read

Thai Tong Restaurant – Hole 1 2nd shot: Ozzie Osborne (donated back – thanks Ozzie)

Longest Drive: A Grade – Kevin Olsen, B Grade – Graeme Meade, C Grade – Ian Mulhall

Lucky Draw: Warren Hay, Tom Williams, Peter Piggott, Dale Rickard