Week ending 8th June 2013 (Vets)

Grant Smallacombe, Captain


Dave Collins has retired his ‘mind of its own’ golf buggy and acquired a rather elegant new one complete with handbrake, foot brake and a couple of other useful accessories – an anchor and GPS.

Thank you to everyone for turning up to play in our host day with Peregian Springs and Nambour. We had a very successful day and just missed out on the 100 players, with a field of 99.

A reminder that our invitation visit to Woodford is coming up on the 17th June with nominations closing on the 12th June.   We have a 21 seat bus that will leave from the car park, on the other side of the railway line, opposite the club at 7.00am.  At this stage I believe we have a spare seat, however if you require transport, contact me as I am sure we can work something out.

BEWARE, Black Caviar has been seen lurking around the club, and is setting himself for another win.


Monday, 3rd June 2013: Weather fine, track holding – perfect for golf.

A field of 99, our best for a long time, allowed 3 grades for the visit by close neighbors, Peregian Springs and Nambour.

Peregian Springs took out the major prize in each grade with Cooroy taking two minor prizes.

It seems there was something of a grudge match between Tony Illa (PS) and Graeme Finn with Tony making special mention of Graeme’s golf prowess at the presentation and Graeme responding in kind – all in good fun.

A Grade: Winner – Tony Illa (PS) 41, Runner Up – Graeme Finn (C) 38
B Grade: Winner – Rod Alfredson (PS) 40, Runner Up – Dave Collins (C) 39
C Grade: Winner – Bruce Smart (PS) – 40, Runner Up – Bruce Hodges (PS) 40

Run Down (all in):

Errol Radley 38, Peter Gooding (PS) 38, Frank Gava 38(?), Ross Paine (PS) 38, Geoff Kerr 38, Mike Miklenda 38, Geoff Pembroke 37, Jim Prendergast 37, Stuart Wright 37, Graham Davies (PS) 37, Dennis Beckhaus 36, Jim Gregg 36, Brian Flynn 36, Peter Reilly 36, Dave Passenger 35, Brian Kelly (N) 35, Kevin Olsen 35.


4th Danny Munster (N), 6th Tony Illa (PS), 7th Rick Sherwin (PS),  10th Bruce Smart (PS), 12th Stuart Sunderland (PS), 15th Brenton O’Connor (PS).


We didn’t feature in the NTP prizes but did collect 7 of the 8 prizes in the raffle.

John McNamara, Dennis Beckhaus, Peter Reilly, Rod Booth, Bill Edwards, Steve Scott (PS), John Stewart (to collect), Dave Passenger (to collect).

RESULTS FROM 5th JUNE 2013 (Wednesday)

An excellent 63 carded by Peter Reilly with Ozzie Osborne carding 64 just one off the pace in B Grade.

Event: June Monthly Medal

Winners:         A John Stewart 67, B – Peter Reilly 63, C – Geoff Kerr 65

Runners Up:  A –Graham Laing 68, B – Ozzie Osborne 64, C – Bill Maitland 67

Run Down (all in):  Stuart Wright 65, Dave Walder 68, Rod Booth 68, John McNamara 69, Rob Nash 69, Terry Hymas 70, Kevin Crundall 70, Brian McMillan 70, Kerry Martin 70, Jim Penman 70, Tony Kershaw 71, Errol Radley 71, Dave Collins 71

NTP:  4th Mike Miklenda, 6th Brian McMillan, 7th Tom Williams, 10th Paddy Knapp, 12th Dave Collins, 13th Dave Passenger, 15th Errol Radley.

Captains Choice

Hole 1 – 2nd shot: Errol Radley


Tony Foster (to collect), Grant Smallacombe, Jim Henderson, Ray Lally.