Week ending 17th August 2013 (Vets)


Thank you to our President, Kevin Crundall, who not only donated all of the winners and runner up prizes this week, but also parted with a large portion of his golf ball collection by donating all of the NTP and run down balls.

For all of those who turned up to last Tuesday’s Working Bee, pat yourselves on the back for a mighty effort.  We had a good roll up and the course certainly looks the better for it.   For anyone who wishes to be involved, the Working Bee’s are normally held on the 1st Tuesday of each month from 7.30 to 9.30 am, light duties only.

Congratulations to all winners this week.   Most notable in C-Grade was Bill Hesse with a great 47 points, his 4 for 5 points on the 11th no doubt the highlight of his round.  I don’t know what Bill has been eating lately, but I want some of it too.

In A-Grade we saw a return to form by our Champion in Black Caviar, Dave Walder.  Dave and Jimmy Penman both scored 41 points and could only be separated after the 3rd stage of a count back.

Also well done to our B-Grade winner Terry Wilson with 41 points. The fears that new member Bruce Cowan held that he would not be able to play to his old handicap soon disappeared when he came in with an impressive 40 points.

You may have noticed “Marshall Pigdon” (left) making his way around the course lately.  Don is unable to play at the moment and has kindly offered to keep an eye out for slow play.

I will be doing another order soon for our green logo golf shirts, anybody who requires a shirt, see me. The cost is $40 payable on receipt of the shirt. The shirts will have your name embroidered on them, making it easy to identify you by other players.


Event: Stableford

Field:  78

Prize Donor: Kevin Crundall

We were again able to welcome a number of visitors for a game with Cooroy VetsJames Forrester (Shelly Beach GC), Kevin Donohue (Morisset GC), Lex Flack (Mackay GC), Ces White (Fairbairn GC), Trevor Blake (Tin Can Bay GC).

A Grade Winner: Dave Walder 41, Runner Up: Jim Penman 41

B Grade Winner: Terry Wilson 41, Runner Up: Bruce Cowan 40

C Grade Winner: Bill Hesse 47, Runner Up: Alan Emery 42

Run Down: Brian McLoughlan 40, Lionel Willet 39, James Forrester (V) 39, Jon Sendall 39, Kevin Tonkin 39, John Cairns 39, Geoff Kerr 38, Ian McMullen 38, Grant Smallacombe 38, Warren Hay 37, Rob Nash 37, John Butler 37, Alan Blundell 37, Paddy Knapp 37, Glen Johnstone 37, Alex Kologaras 37

NTP : 4th John Round 6th John Round 7th Ces White (V) 10th Chris Simpson 12th Grant Smallacombe 15th James Forrester (V).

Captain’s Choice: Best 3rd shot on 18th: Terry Wilson.

RAFFLE: Nick Kostalas, Les Arthur, Len Highland, Jon Sendall, Grant Smallacombe.

NOTE:  Unclaimed wine will be placed on the Raffle Table tagged with the winners name for collection next time you play.

NTP – 13th Hole

NTP 2nd shot (all in) prize on the 13th is a 6 Pack from the bar. In future the winner will be issued with a Voucher which they present to the bar to collect the 6 Pack prize. If you win a NTP on 13th make sure you collect the Voucher on the day or the next time you play.


Welcome to new member Dave Lyons also a new member of Cooroy Golf club.

Ordinary membership has now reached 126 with 20 new members so far this year.

Rod Booth – Secretary/Treasurer