VETS – Results Newsletter w/e 13th February 2015


EVENT: Stableford
VISITORS: Pelican Waters

WINNER: A Grade – Bruce Wilshire 42, B Grade – Bill Edwards 40, C Grade – Harvey Mathews (PW)
RUNNER UP: A Grade – Phil Botting 41, B Grade – Neville Smith 37 (PW), C Grade – Kevin Crundall 40
3rd Place: A Grade – Graham Laing 41, B Grade – Tony Foster 37, C Grade – Mike Smith 40.

RUN DOWN to 35: Les Arthur, Denis Guion, John Stewart, Col Easton, Con Russell, Jim Prendergast, Bob Hodgson (PW), Errol Radley, Alan Jory (PW), Barrie Jack (PW), Ken McKay, Brian Flynn, Graham Edmunds (PW), Kevin Olsen (PW), Hasse Andersson, Geoff Duggan (PW), Mike Miklenda, Nick Kostalas, Warren Hay, Ron Blount, Peter Piggott, Mick McGreal, Kim McDowall (PW), Franz Poekle (PW).

NTP: 4th Ross Anderson (PW), 6th John Stewart, 7th Geoff Dugan (PW), 10th Kevin Crundall, 12th Barrie Jack (PW), 15th Dennis Collins (PW).

RAFFLE: Ron Blount, Graham Laing, Darryl Cook (PW), John Kelly, Bob Read, Len Highland, Col Easton, Mike Kirkham (PW).


On Monday we had Pelican Waters visit us for our first Host Day at home for the year.  The numbers were very good with 33 visitors from Pelican Waters, 1 visitor, and 48 of our own players taking part.

There are still plenty of games to go for you to make the top ten and therefore win a prize in this years’ “Jim Penman Host Day Trophy”. Another good round by Graham Laing has him leading at this stage with a total of 79 points.  CHECK OUT THE LEADER BOARD ON OUR NOTICE BOARD AT THE CLUB.   To qualify for one of the 10 prizes on offer, you must play in at least 5 away games and 4 home games.   Your score will be calculated by adding up your 10 best scores for the year.

Our next host days are at Mt Coolum on Monday the 23rd February, and we then host Mt Coolum on Monday the 2nd March.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADuring the past week we have had a visitor, Nick Walley (left with Captain, Grant), from the UK join us for two games.  Talking to Nick made me realize just how lucky we are, that we get to play in ideal conditions all year round.   Nick sent me the following e-mail:

Thanks for looking after me at Cooroy, I enjoyed the course and was made very welcome by all your members and your guests from Pelican Waters.  My surname is Walley and Jan is my partner.  Currently I am Captain of Leicestershire and Rutland Counties Senior Team and an ex Club Captain of Cosby.  If all is well we hope to be back this time next year so if so I will drop you an email.
Thanks again for your hospitality
Best Regards

Our once a year game of American Foursomes was played on Wednesday.  It may not be the most popular contest but some players still managed to come in with a good score. One concern is that our “SERIAL” Runner-Up Bob Noble could only manage to finish in 3rd place this week.   Obviously some more work to be done there Bob.

ALL PLAYERS PLEASE TAKE NOTE: When playing in a team event it is very inconsiderate of you, if you don’t inform your playing partner and the club if you can’t make it for some reason.  This week several players were left in limbo when others did not show.  This also causes problems for our starters and we see uneven groups of players on the course with some not being eligible to win the major prizes.  TAKE THE TIME TO THINK OF OTHERS.

Finally there has been a change to our program; Wednesday, 25th February was to be a timed start.   It has now been altered to an 8.00am Shotgun Start with a FREE sausage sizzle at completion of play.  The change has been made so we have a chance to bid Steve Howes farewell before he and Val make the move to Harvey Bay.

RESULTS FROM 11th February 2015

EVENT: American Foursome
SPONSOR: Cooroy Vets

WINNER: Kerry Martin & Bill Galvin – 61
RUNNER UP: Paul O’Hare & Dave Lyons – 61
3rd Place: Bob Noble & Nick Kostalas – 62

RUN DOWN: Steve Howes & Charlie Adelberg, Russ Rylance & Les Grimsditch, John Kelly & Mike Miklenda, Errol Radley & Kevin Olsen, Les Arthur & Terry Lyons.

NTP: 4th John Stewart (Col Easton), 6th Con Russell, 7th Greg Flanagan, 10th Brad Lavender, 12th Les Arthur (Terry Lyons), 13th Lionel Willett, 15th Bruce Wilshire

CAPTAIN’s CHOICE Hole 1, 2nd shot: Errol Radley/Kevin Olsen.

RAFFLE: Dave Lyons, Charlie Adelberg, Paul O’Hare, Les Grimsditch.