Vets – NEWSLETTER week ending 6th September 2014


Well done everyone who had anything to do with our clubs’ hosting of Monday’s C&D Grade District Championships.

We have received very good feedback from other participating clubs in regards to how professionally the event was run.  Our volunteers on the day had a lot to do with this and did a magnificent job that was very much appreciated.

Congratulations to both C-Grade Champion Terence Palmer from Pelican Waters, and our very own D-Grade Champion Mike Miklenda.

This month’s John Madill Monthly Medal was played in very windy conditions.  Some of us suffered from blue line fever and didn’t play too well, not the case for Ian Mulhall who returned the score of the day with a Nett 60.   Bob Noble once again proved that he was the best golfer on the day by winning his playing partners’ award for the best Gross score of 76.

Don’t forget that next week is our MEMBERS GUEST DAY where you can bring along a guest to join your team in a 4 Man Ambrose event.  Guests will only have to pay the $12 competition fee and don’t necessarily have to have a current handicap.  Non handicapped players will play off 18 (conditions apply).

There will be a few changes to a couple of holes that is sure to make things interesting.

There will be a free sausage sizzle at the completion of play.

BREAKING NEWSLionel Willett won the Singles Match Play final on the 18th hole today – proving again the old adage that age only matters if you are wine or cheese. Congratulations to Lionel.


At 88, our field on Wednesday was our largest Wednesday field for a long time.   Fields have been steadily increasing to the point where we have the nice problem of not having sufficient space on our Wednesday Nomination Sheet.  But don’t be concerned if the sheet is full there is now a second page until we can squeeze a few more slots onto the front of the sheet.

Our average member Wednesday field size for 2014 calendar year is running at 78.  Fields have remained strong all year with no drop off over winter as in previous years.


Event: Monthly Medal
Prize Donor: John Madill Toyota

Thanks to John Madill Toyota for their support in sponsoring our Monthly Medal events.   Jakson Wickham is now our contact at Madill’s so if you are looking at buying a vehicle have a word to Jakson.

We had our biggest field for a Wednesday for a long time 87 plus 1 visitor, Craig Frankcam, from Redlands Golf Club in Brisbane.  Craig was celebrating his wedding anniversary so his wife drove him around the course – now there’s a thoughtful anniversary gift.

A Grade Winner: Bob Noble 65, Runner Up: Phil Mason 66
B Grade Winner: Ian McMullen 66, Runner Up: Charlie Adelberg 67
C Grade Winner: Ian Mulhall 60, Runner Up: Mike Miklenda 69

Run Down to 71 (all in): Graham Laing, Dennis Guion, Doug Allisone, Tony Kershaw, Alan Humphries, Paddy Knapp, Ron Bourne, Hasse Andersson, Nick Kostalas, Col Easton, Bill Galvin, Trevor Blake, Tony Bernhagen, Dave Chapman, Dennis Beckhaus, Warren Hay, Jim Penman.

NTP: 4thAlan Blundell (Richies Bakery), 6th Hasse Andersson, 7th Bob Noble, 10th Alan Blundell (Cooroy Harvest Fresh), 12th Ron Blount, 13th Jim Penman (Bar Voucher), 15th A Skinner (Noosa Outlook Meats).

Captain’s Choice- Hole 18 Longest Putt: Tony Kershaw

Raffle: Bruce Cowan, Bruce Wilshire, Charlie Adelberg, Brian McMillan.


EVENT: Single Stableford
SPONSORS: John Madill Toyota, smallPRINT AUSTRALIA PTY LTD, Sunshine Coast District Veteran Golfers Association


WINNER: Terry Palmer (PW) 38
RUNNER UP: Ken McKay (C) 37
3rd PLACE: Perry Pyke (G) 36


WINNER: Mike Miklenda (C) 42
RUNNER UP: Ed Krop (C) 39
3rd PLACE: Lionel Willett (C) 38

RUN DOWN to 33 (all in): Ray Leslie, John Round, Ron Faux (HP), Tony Foster, John McNamara, Alan Westacott (MC), Jeff Mason (G), Graeme Garde (MC), Ian Savage (HP), Hasse Andersson, Ian Pedley (H), Peter Johnson, Nick Kostalas, Geoff Hole (H).


C GRADE: 6th Rod Walker (G), 10th Ron Faux (HP), 12th Brad Lavender            LONGEST DRIVE: Grant Smallacombe
D GRADE: 4th Rod Harper, 7th Geoff Hole (H), 15th Michael Anderson               LONGEST DRIVE: Nick Kostalas