VETS: Newsletter week ending 24th September 2016


Another one of our prestigious annual events has been settled for 2016.

Bruce McLean (left) is the 2016 Single Match Play Champion taking out the title with a win over Russ Rylance 4/3.

NEXT WEDNESDAY – 28th September 2016

Next week is a single Stableford competition with an 8:00am shot gun start.

It also includes one of our annual competitions that has almost reach State of Origin status – the Internationals vs Aussies Trophy.

The field will be divided into 3 separate teams where the best 10 scores from each team count to win the coveted trophy.  Last year’s winning team “The True Blue Aussies” captained by Dave Lyons are throwing out the challenge to the “International All Stars” and the “Australian Attack”.

The two Captains of the challenging teams Jim Henderson and Grant Smallacombe have vowed to turn the tables and put a stop to Dave’s constant bragging.


Welcome aboard to new member, Gavin Moffatt.


Event: Canadian 2 Stroke
Prize Sponsor: John O’Donoghue
Field: 78 including 2 visitors

Winners: Terry Wilson & Peter Smith – 54½
Runners Up: Graham Laing & Terry Lyons – 59
3rd Place: John Cairns & Ray Lally – 60

Run Down to 65½:
Ray Glover & Lionel Willett
Col Jones (v) & Chris Simpson
Ron Blount & John Danger
Rod Harper & Ray Leslie
Graeme Meade & Warren Hay
Bob Noble & Kevin Tonkin
Grathan Leatherbarrow & Andrew Aves
Peter Kennedy & Dale Rickard


4th (Richies Bakery/Fox & Hound Espresso) – Graeme Osborne
6th – Jason Egan
7th – Greg Flanagan
10th (Cooroy Harvest Fresh) – Terry Lyons
12th – Con Russell
13th (Cooroy Golf Club) – Brian Clemow
15th (Noosa Outlook Prestige Meat) – Kerry Martin

Captain’s Choice 1st Hole, 2nd Shot: Kevin Tonkin

Lucky Draw: John Dangar, Bob Noble, Ian McMullen, Brian McLoughlin