VETS – NEWSLETTER week ending 14th November 2015


We had 23 players attending the Host Day at Noosa, and 60 taking part at Cooroy on Wednesday.  Our players at Noosa finished with some good scores, Dave Lyons finished 3rd in his grade and also won a NTP.  Hasse Andersson also finished with 39 points but failed to get a placing in his grade.

Radley Errol 4The day brings the end to our Jim Penman Host Day Trophy event for 2015.  Our winner this year is Errol Radley (left) who finished with 372 points, an average of 37.2 over his best 10 games.  Both Graham Laing and Dale Rickard jumped into the top 10 after their game at Noosa.  The top 10 and leader board will be on display at the club, and prizes will be presented at our Xmas Lunch and presentation day.

Congratulations Errol on your consistent effort.  Other stats from this year’s Host Day’s are:

  • A total of 94 players took part in at least 1 host day event.
  • Don Clelland was the only player to participate in all 10 away and 7 home host days.

I would like to remind all players that our Invitation to Woodford day on Monday is an 8.30 am Shotgun Start.

Our Stableford game at Cooroy saw Bob Noble shoot a 74 off the stick and finish with 46 points.  A great effort on the recently cored greens.

My Birthday Ball Team Event proved a challenge as only 4 out of the 16 groups returned a completed card and the ball. The group of John Milligan, Peter Smith, Ray Leslie, and John O’Donoghue won the event with a great score of 45 points.

Penman JimNext Wednesday is our 2 Man Ambrose Event, it is an 8.00am shotgun start and there is a FREE SAUSAGE SIZZLE at completion of play.  Don Clelland (dangerous chainsaw Don) and Dave Lyons have volunteered to do the cooking.  It will also be the 1st of our 4 x half ham lucky draw prizes you must be in attendance on shotgun start days to win.

The event is being sponsored by our one and only “Life Member”, Jim Penman (left in photo with Ken McKay).

The 2 Man Ambrose will be played with a twist.  Some of you may remember we did this last year.

There will be no limit on how many Tee shots are to be used by each player.

Each team of 2 players must hit:

  • 6 Tee shots off the Blue markers.
  • 6 Tee shots off the White markers.
  • 6 Tee shots off the Yellow markers.

You have a week to work out your strategies.

Next Wednesday evening is also the Cooroy Golf Club Annual General Meeting.  We have enjoyed a very good relationship with the existing Committee. There are a couple of positions that will be voted on.  I urge all members to attend and have their say.


Event: Stableford
Prize Donor: Grant Smallacombe
Field: 60

O'Donoghue John - DrivingWinners: A Grade – Bob Noble 46, B Grade – John O’Donoghue (left) 41, C Grade – Jim Henderson 43

Runners Up: A Grade – Ray Nolan 42 c/b, B Grade – Bruce Wilshire 40 c/b, C Grade – Rob Powell c/b

Run Down to 38: Chris Simpson, Rod Booth, Rob Nash, Alex Kologaras, Phil Mason, Glen Johnstone, Paddy Knapp, Jim Turnbull, Jon Sendall, Terry Hymas, Bruce McLean, Tom Williams, Dennis Beckhaus


4th (Richies Bakery) – Kevin Olsen
6th – Ray Lally
7th – Bob Noble
10th (Cooroy Harvest Fresh) – Jim Henderson
12th – John Butler
13th (Cooroy Golf Club) – Ian McMullen
15th (Noosa Outlook Prestige Meat) – Bob Noble

Captain’s Choice – Birthday Ball Event: Team Milligan, Smith, Leslie, O’Donoghue – 45 points

Lucky Draw: Rob Nash, Chris Simpson, Ray Leslie, Rudy Agerbeek

Sponsor Strip 2015