VETS: Newsletter week ending 12th August 2017


This year the Sunshine Coast District Veteran Golfers Association District Championship will be held at Mt Coolum on Monday, 28th August 2017.  

In past years Cooroy Vets has been well represented and produced some good results.  Members are encouraged to nominate for this years’ championship.  The District is aiming to surpass last year’s entries of 158.

There are $1,250 worth of prizes on offer – 1st $100 – 2nd $60 – 3rd $40 in each of the 4 divisions (subject to numbers).  $100 for the overall winner and $50 runner up. There are 6 NTP’s worth $50 each.

click on this link – District Championship On-Line Nomination.  The link also provides access to “conditions of play” and the event flyer.

If you are not able to nominate on-line see Rod or Grant.


The inaugural Foundation Member Old Course Challenge proved very successful with some very good scores posted over the two rounds.

Round 1 Winner: Terry Harrison 23
Round 2 Winner: Lance Horn 24
2017 Old Course Champion: Lance Horn (left in photo with Lionel) 46

Thanks to Lionel Willett and Ed Otto for sponsoring the event and to Lionel for starting the discussion that initiated “The Challenge”.  

Cooroy Vets was founded in the mid 1980’s with around 17 members and joined the Sunshine Coast District Veteran Golfers Association around the same time.  Lionel and Ed were foundation members. 

We recently awarded Lionel “Gold Membership” for active playing participation with Cooroy Vets of over 32 years.

RESULTS for 9th AUGUST 2017

Event: Stableford & R2 Old Course Challenge
Prize Donors: Lionel Willett & Ed Otto
Field: 80

A Grade: Winner – Peter Kennedy 44, Runner Up – Bob Noble 43, 3rd Place – Errol Radley 41
B Grade: Winner – Grant Smallacombe 46, Runner Up – John Cairns 39 c/b, 3rd Place – Kerry Martin 39
C Grade: Winner – John Round 42, Runner Up – Lance Horn 41, 3rd Place – Steve Howes 40

Run Down: Andrew Aves, Alex Kologaras, Andrew Dick, Tony Foster, Jason Egan, Doug Pearce, Brad Lavender, Rod Harper, Paul O’Hare, Peter Buchbach, Greg Michael, Peter Fryer, John Hillis, Rob Nash, Ron Bourne, Dennis Beckhaus, Lionel Willett  


4th A Grade: (Richies Bakery) Graham Laing
– B Grade: Brian Stephen
7th – C Grade: Terry Harrison
8th – All in: (smallPRINT – ‘Strawberries for Pigs’) Bob Noble
10th – A Grade: (Cooroy Harvest Fresh) Mike Kent
12th – B Grade: Don Clelland
13th – All in: Peter Fryer
14th – All in: (Cooroy Harvest Fresh) Mike Kent
15th – B Grade: (Noosa Outlook Prestige Meats) A Skinner

Captain’s Choice – Hole 9: A Grade – Ray Lally, B Grade – Jim Gregg, C Grade – Steve Howes
Thai Tong – Hole 1: Peter Buchbach

Lucky Draw: Rod Harper, John Dangar, Greg Michael, Ray Glover