NEWSLETTER week ending 9th November 2013 (Vets)


I would like to take this opportunity to thank all members of the Cooroy VETS for electing the new Committee for the coming year.

For me personally it is an honour to be elected as President and I look forward to working with all of our good friends on the Committee and the broader Cooroy Golf Club, to continue on with the great work from the past to ensure we provide the best of service and benefits for all Members into the future.

As I mentioned on Wednesday, whilst we all enjoy our golf and strive to play to the best of our ability, the great strength we have as a Club is the supportive and social manner in which we conduct ourselves and we will continue to foster this environment.

Another key to our success is the open communication channels that have been developed and Committee members will always remain open to any discussions which will lead us to the continued improvement of our Club.


Our next Working Bee will be held on Tuesday the 12th of November, 7.30 am at the Green Keeper’s Shed. There are plenty of sticks to pick up.

There are 2 Single Stableford games on next week. Monday the 11th, and Wednesday the 13th.  Time sheets are available at the Club.

For those members who couldn’t make it to our Annual General Meeting, I would like to thank you for your support during the past year, and say that I am looking forward to the next 12 months as your “Captain”.

Wednesday was a big day involving the 2nd round of the Vets Championships, and our John Madill Monthly Medal.

Congratulations to our Vets Club Champions for 2013. In A Grade Les Terrans, B Grade Kerry Martin (left), and C Grade John Tomlins. The Best Nett – All in also went to Kerry Martin.

Best scores for 36 holes:

A Grade

Les Terrans 76/79 (155), Jim Penman 76/81 (157), John Butler 85/80 (165), Errol Radley 79/87 (166), Tom Williams 87/80 (167),

B Grade

Kerry Martin 76/84 (160), Don Clelland 89/87 (176), Les Arthur 90/86 (176), Dave Passenger 89/89 (178)

C Grade

John Tomlins 101/92 (193), Bill Hesse 86/109 (197), Hasse Andersson 102/97 (199), Dave Chapman 98/101 (199)

Best Nett for 36 holes all in:

Kerry Martin 56/66 (122), Les Terrans 64/68 (132), Peter Piggott 65/68 (133), Dave Passenger 66/68 (134), Andrew Dick 67/68 (135)

Congratulations also to our Monthly Medal winners. A GradeGraham Finn 63, B GradeDerek Clayton 66 c/b, and C GradeJohn Tomlins 63.


The Vets have agreed to fund the following course improvement projects at a total cost of ~$4,500.

Given the problem addressed by each project the aim will be to complete the work as quickly as practical as we head towards the wet season.

  • Drainage work in front of 4th green
  • Path work to right of 9th green
  • Drainage work on 17th fairway in front of social tee                                                   


Event: NOVEMBER Monthly Medal
Prizes: We are pleased to have John Madill Toyota as our Monthly Medal sponsor.

A Grade Winner: Graham Finn 63, Runner Up: Rob Nash 64

B Grade Winner: Derek Clayton 66 c/b, Runner Up: Rob Powell 66

C Grade Winner: John Tomlins 63, Runner Up: John Round 65

Run Down to 69: Kerry Martin, John Butler, Tom Williams, Dave Passenger, Terry Harrison, Don Clelland, Bill Maitland, Ian Lawson, Brian Flynn, Les Terrans, Andrew Dick, Peter Piggott, Les Arthur, Rod Booth, Hasse Andersson, Geoff Kerr

NTP: 6th John Dangar, 7th Alan Blundell, 10th Bruce Cowan, 12th Len Highland, 13th Les Terrans (6Pack).

Captain’s Choice – Best Gross: A Grade – Graham Finn, B Grade – Kerry Martin, C Grade – John Tomlins

Raffle: Andrew Dick, Lionel Willett, Kerry Martin, Terry Hymas


The Bush Boys (there are a lot of them) are members of Cooroy Veterans and we are pleased to say one of our major prize sponsors.  They will be a sponsor of the 4 Man Ambrose on our Xmas lunch and presentation day on 11th December 2013.

They also support Cooroy Golf Club by playing regularly in a Bush Boys Friday Social group.

In their Friday event on 16th October 2013 John McNamara (left) popped it into the 6th Hole for a Hole-in-One.  John was presented with his prize by another Bush BoyBill Galvin.