NEWSLETTER week ending 7th December 2013 (Vets)


A reminder that next Wednesday, our Xmas lunch and final day for 2013 is a 7:30am shot gun starta quick game of fun golf and then back to the club house for Xmas lunch, presentations and more fun.


Congratulations to John Tomlins (left) for winning the 2013 Medal of Medals with a nett 60, John who plays off 28 had an exceptional day.

Our monthly medal was very well supported with 85 players taking part.  Some very good scores come in with Alan Blundell 63 taking out the A-Grade. The B-Grade saw 3 players come in with a nett 64 with yours truly winning on a count back from Lionel Willett and Ian McMullen. The C-Grade of course went to John Tomlins.

Bob Noble backed up last week’s ace, by scoring an eagle this week. I am not certain what hole it was on, but no doubt Bob will be more than happy to tell me all about it when he collects his 6 golf balls next week.

Our 4 Man Ambrose event next week has attracted a field of 100 players, so you should do all that is possible to avoid slow play.  It is not necessary to spend too much time looking for lost balls when playing in this type of event.

Next week will see our last official game for 2013, with the 1st game in 2014 being on the 15th of January. If you would like a game during the break, Wayne usually runs a ball competition from the bar.

I wish all members a Merry Xmas and am looking forward to a successful 2014.


Event: DECEMBER Monthly Medal & 2013 Medal of Medals

Prizes: John Madill Toyota

Field: 85

2013 Medal of Medals Winner: John Tomlins 60

John Madill (right) from John Madill Toyota, our monthly medal sponsor, presented Alan Blundell (left) with his prize for taking out the December A Grade Monthly Medal.

A Grade Winner: Alan Blundell 63, Runner Up: Kerry Martin 64

B Grade Winner: Grant Smallacombe 64 c/b, Runner Up: Lionel Willett 64

C Grade Winner: John Tomlins 60, Runner Up: Terry Hymas 66

Run Down to 68: Ian McMullen, Charlie Adelberg, Graham Laing, Jon Sendall, Rudy Agerbeek, Bruce Wilshire, Doug Allisone, Les Allisone, Les Terrans, Dave Walder, Graham Finn, Terry Harrison, Bruce Cowan, Brian Flynn, Mike Smith, Mike Miklenda, Brian McLoughlan

NTP: 4th John Tomlins, 6th Con Russell, 7th Kevin Tonkin, 10th Ken McKay, 12th John O’Donoghue, 13th Jim Penman, 15th Graham Laing.

Captain’s Choice: Best Gross A – Kevin Tonkin 78, B – Grant Smallacombe 83, C – John Tomlins.

Raffle: Mike Miklenda, Jim Penman, Don Clelland, Ray Lally.