Your update on what's happening at Cooroy Vets
Cooroy Vets Logo Vector

Week ending 14th September 2019

Hi reader,


“The Good, The Bad and The Ugly” aka John Stewart, Bob Noble, Andy Stewart (no suggestions about who’s who!) sponsored Wednesdays Stroke event which also completed the 2019 Vets Championships.

Congratulations to the Championship winners. It took all year but honest Errol Radley finally won something and it was a big one.

Handicap Champion: Errol Radley (129)
A Grade Champion: Gordon Green (158)
B Grade Champion: Bruce McLean (176)
C Grade Champion: Dennis Beckhaus (195)

Wednesday Stroke event results:

Gordon Green claimed A Grade with 62 from Errol Radley with 66 on countback from Brian Clemow (forever the bridesmaid!).

David Attrill shot 63 to take B Grade from John Stewart 65 and Bruce Wilshire 66.

Dennis Beckhaus shot 63 to take C Grade from Wayne Carty 66 and Geoff Cowan 68.

The Kevin Tonkin sponsored Best Gross went to Gordon Green with 75 from Paul Hennessy 79, Brian Clemow 82 and John Wuersching 82.

Kev Tonkin eagled the 8th earning him 6 balls.

Bill Edwards, past president of Cooroy Vets, paid us a visit. Bill now lives on Bribie Island and as a result of health issues no longer plays golf but enjoys staying in touch through our weekly Vets newsletter. It is even better when you can catch up with old friends in person. Great to see you Bill.

Buchbach Peter with Lionel Willett


After last weeks Monthly Medal was wrapped up Kerry Martin realised he had made an error in his score card and self reported the problem as a result of which he was disqualified. The revised result is:

Winner: John Round
Runner Up: Mike Smith
3rd Place: Tony Doughty


We host Headland on Monday, 16th September - 8:00 am shotgun start.

On the 25th September we play one of our most popular annual events - International All Stars vs Aussie sponsored by "The Shankers" (aka Geoff Edwards, Terry McCulloch, Grant Smallacombe).

The field is divided into 3 teams according to heritage with the best 10 scores from each team counting towards the coveted pewter mug trophy. We may have two non playing captains this year with more time to scheme and plan tactics.

The Teams are:

"International All Stars" skippered by Jim (Irish) Henderson
"True Blue Aussies" skippered by Dave Lyons
"Aussie Attack" skippered by Grant Smallacombe

If you get approached offering inducements to temporarily change your heritage so you can join a particular team don't be too alarmed (this is Qld not NSW!) as it is allowed under the 'no holds barred' rules of the event. After all, the losing captains are required to ensure the pewter mug is filled with beer for the winning captain for the duration of the afternoon.